Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Forgotten Books: The Belgariad

If you are a fan of fantasy you may have heard of this five book series—The Belgariad. I couldn’t just pick one, I had to highlight them all (it would be like picking one Harry Potter—shutter).


Author: David Eddings

Genre: Epic Fantasy

Book One: Pawn of Prophesy (1982)

Book Two: Queen of Sorcery (1982)

Book Three: Magician’s Gambit (1983)

Book Four: Castle of Wizardry (1984)

Book Five: Enchanters End Game (1985)

The series tells the story of the recovery of the Orb of Aldur and coming of age of Garion, an orphaned farm boy. Garion is accompanied by his aunt Polgara and grandfather Belgrath as they try to fulfill an ancient prophecy that will decide the fate of the universe. Along the way, various "instruments", or helpers, of the prophecy join their quest to recover the orb, and Garion discovers his true identity and destiny.

It is a travesty that more people don’t know about this series. David Eddings has some of the BEST characters I have ever read. If you like Christopher Paolini you will LOVE David Eddings. I can see Eddings influence throughout Paolini’s books.

Eddings has many more books but The Belgariad is a great place to start—and these new covers are amazing. Much better than the original!!!



Chantele Sedgwick said...

I've never heard of these, but they sound awesome! :D

Amy Dahlke said...

Ooooh, I loved these books as a kid! So awesome!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...